Commit

I’ve never been the “beautiful” one.

I’ve never been the “smartest” one.

I’ve never been the “coolest” one.

I’ve never been the “artistic” one.

I’ve never been the “kindest” one.

I’ve never been the “quietest” one.

I’ve never been the “loudest” one. (Maybe some would beg to differ)

With all the certainties of who I am not can leave me uncertain of who I am.

I am sure you do the same…focus on what and who you are not.

Well, quit it.

Serious.

I will quit if you do, too. I’m talking to you, ladies. Quit comparing yourself.

Proverbs 16:3
Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and He will establish your plans.

Think about that verse.

No, really think about it…

“Commit to the Lord…”

Commit…what does that word mean to you?

To me it means: trust, no complaining, faith in action, promise, following through, etc.

“…whatever you do…”

This means exactly what it states…commit to God everything. Absolutely everything. Your relationships, your health, your job, your career, your looks, your personality, your children, your marriage, your friendships, you name it and “whatever you do” encompasses this.

“…and He will establish your plans.”

Establish. What does establish mean to you?
* organize
* initiate
* set up
* lead
* cause to happen

I read this verse today and I dissected it just like I illustrated above. During my time reflecting on this verse, I realized how I don’t commit to God to establish much in my life. I don’t “commit” many facets of my life on a continual basis; one of these facets is accepting who He made me to be.

Pinterest. Instagram. Blogs. Facebook. Magazines at the checkout line at the grocery store. Frick. It’s everywhere. A constant battle to fight the urge to compare.

Today I fought the urge to compare. Today, I just relished in who He made me to be.

I may not be the most beautiful…to the world.

I may not be the smartest one…to the world.

I may not be the coolest one…to the world.

I may not be the most artistic one…to the world.

I may not be the most kindest one…to the world (and in general…ha!)

I may not be the quietest one…

I may not be the loudest one…

But He is continuing to remind me that I am much more than the things I am not. I committed my life to Him at the age of 10-years-old and if it takes me another 20-years to understand what this means (faith in action), then I will continue this journey because He is my only true peace in a world that wants to speak lies to my soul.

Don’t listen to the world. Never listen. I beg of you to “commit everything to God and He will establish your plans/life…”

May His peace reign in your heart today.

I'm the awkward one on the left, but I'm surrounded my awesome women who have mentored me through the years...

I’m the awkward one on the left, but I’m surrounded my awesome women who have mentored me through the years…

5 thoughts on “Commit

  1. My dearest Jennifer, you have been and continue to be a blessing. I will always remember what your Dee Dee said when she first saw you, “her eyes just snap when she looks at you, she is my little niffer.” I knew from the time you were very little that you would never just settle in life.
    Dad and I had so much fun last Saturday in Rockford watching Kristen and her friends jump in the river. We were talking about the day on the way home and how much we enjoyed being a part of what Kristen did, being with Stephen and Alayna and John being there also. We even had a chance to grab a late lunch with John. However we both wished you and Matt could have been there. You are always the missing link when we are together.
    While reading this post I thought of a line from the movie The Help. One of the maids always said this to the children she took care of and had them repeat it back to her, “you is kind, you is good, you is important.”
    I love you,
    Mom

    • My Dear Niffer:
      You never cease to amaze me even at my “advanced age”. You can be the “clown” at our gatherings, make Bop Bop and I feel so special, carry on intelligent conversations with everyone no matter the age level and then turn around and do the most “crazy dance” that leaves all of us in stitches. As you mom said in her reply, I knew from the moment I saw you that you would make your mark in the world. Those eyes looked right at me moments after you were born and seemed to relay the message “look out world, I have things to accomplish”. You have been my strength so many times: I remember the hug you and Kristen gave me when you came walking down the hall of the hospital after Michelle died, and all you did for Bop Bop and I during the time your Uncle Bill was dying. I could go on and on. I’m so very proud of you my dear Niffer and although we all miss you we’re happy you are doing what you want to do. You have so much to offer the world my dear one, God has given you so many gifts and I know your ability to make people laugh is one of the gifts that make Him smile the most. Hugs, I love you.
      God Bless
      Dee Dee

  2. I would rather be what God chose to make me than the most glorious creature that I could think of; for to have been thought about, born in God’s thought, and then made by God, is the dearest, grandest, and most precious thing in all thinking. – Prayer of Contentment – George MacDonald (Mentor to CS Lewis)
    Love ya,
    Amanda Childerhose

Leave a Reply

