Wrapping Up 2012

It’s a new year. Time for some new “goals”. I will be updating the top of my website with 2013 “goals”, but here’s how 2012 fared:

1. Read. A lot.
I started off strong and…then it…slooowed……..down. Try again, Jen. Book Club 2013 is my real goal.

2. Go “Green” with all cleaning supplies.
I had to go through and think of all things that I use to clean the house and I can officially say that I either use all of my own “homemade” cleaners or use those that are considered “green” and non-corrosive (like Seventh Generation liquid dishwasher detergent). I can give a rundown of what I use in my house in a future post.

3. Get a J-O-B.
Done and done. And one that I really enjoy and compliments my interests. I’ll leave it at that, but know that it was a serious “journey” to get here.

4. Photograph more and better.
Hmmm…I’m my own worst critic. I did use my instagram a lot more toward the end of the year, but I’ve had the account for over two years, and I was hoping to use my “real” camera more. This will be one goal that will be here year after year.

5. Run a Half-Marathon.
June 2012. Check.

6. Sew a dang skirt.
Nope. But I sewed a ton of other s#@!. I still have no idea what I’m doing.

7. Volunteer within my community.
Yessum. One such endeavor led to my current job. Get out and volunteer, peeps!!

8. Yoga, Yoga, Yoga!
No, No and No. I got a membership for my birthday and I have yet to use it. I do a morning sequence every day. Still doesn’t count.

9. Embroider more.
Not as much as I would like. Boo!

10. Conquer the backcountry on my splitboard.
Not yet. But the turns are coming easier and new and improved gear always helps (don’t want to get snow down your pants. Yuck!)

11. Make a small plot garden.
Yes. I grew bok choy, broccoli (which I didn’t pick in time so it sprouted), herbs, and carrots. Lots and lots of carrots. 

12. Get the tattoo already.
Call me a chicken.

13. Make this house my home.
Getting there.

14. Find a church in Anchorage.
Still on the hunt. Surprisingly I have found a number of opportunities that have supplemented my time away from a church. God is good.

15. Embrace my baby face youthful look.
I turned 30 in 2012 and I can honestly say that this year was probably the least I cared how young I look. Maybe by the time I’m 50, I won’t care. 😉
2012 was a great year and was full of many more events that I consider to be pretty fantastic even though they weren’t on my list. Of course, like we all say each year, it went by too quick, but it was a year spent setting up for a momentous 2013. I like odd numbers, so here’s to having high hopes for 2013 and the days ahead.

2013…bring it!
What are your greatest memories from the past year? Do you have goals or resolutions for 2013? Care to share?

Leave a Reply

