Spread the Word

24 hours ago I was typing a blog post about Alaska Sudan Medical Project (ASMP), a Global Challenge they are currently having during the month of September, why I am involved, how you can be involved and that September 5 was a “Bonus Day” where donations were matched by Global Giving.

Unfortunately there was a bit of a windstorm in Anchorage and my lights kept flickering and my computer turned off twice (on its own). I unplugged my (desktop) computer to protect it from any power surges and I grabbed my laptop to continue working on my blog, but I couldn’t connect to the internet. My modem continued to reset every 30 seconds as the wind blew outside.

I attempted to finish the blog on my iPhone, but that was a major pain on a little phone. So I gave up.

It’s the end of September 5 and “Bonus Day” has come and gone (it ended after it reached its maximum matching amount). I feel bad that I didn’t get the post up so more people could participate in “Bonus Day”, but alas, it wasn’t “meant to be” since Alaska had other ideas of what I was supposed to be doing with my time…

But that doesn’t mean I am not going to be quiet about September’s Global Challenge and ASMP. No sir (or miss or ma’am). Some of my friends and family know about ASMP and have already made contributions. A big thank you for having faith in my judgement that this organization is seriously awesome, and another gigantic THANK YOU in your giving hearts…

If you haven’t heard, Alaska Sudan Medical Project is part of a month long Global Challenge to raise $5000 in 30 days from 50 unique donors. The current project is to raise funds for a water well to built for 400 school children in South Sudan. You can read more here in my last entry.

As of September 5 at 10:00pm (Alaska time):
$ Raised: $4,240
Unique Donors: 40
Rank: 7 out of 300+ organizations for the September challenge

Click the link below to visit their page on Global Giving:
http://www.globalgiving.org/projects/clean-water-for-children-in-south-sudan/

There are 25 more days to go and I am in awe how much awareness this has brought to ASMP and beyond that, awareness to a country that is forgotten by most. A country that is one of the poorest in the world. A country that is only a baby at only one year old (Sudan separated to become North & South Sudan in July 2011). There is so much to be done, but I know that prayers, boots on the ground, efforts by those back home, and donations are all used to make a lasting impact in someone’s life. So thank you.

Tell your friends. Tell your friends about Africa; about South Sudan; about Global Challenge; about Alaska Sudan Medical Project. Let’s get the word out!!

Oh yeah, and if any of you are accountants or know of someone who is willing to assist in helping a good cause, Alaska Sudan Medical Project is looking for someone to assist with their books (they already do an awesome job, but they are growing as an organization and would like to have someone’s expertise).

**Please note I am not paid to promote ASMP, nor am I a paid employee of ASMP.**I recently had someone inquire if I was and I just want to put it out their for clarification purposes that I do this because…well, why wouldn’t I? 😉

Leave a Reply

