10,000 Reasons

For the past (almost) week I have been creating a list of 10,000 things I am thankful for.

Yep. 10,000.

It’s not original, but it’s needed in my life. I actually thought of it last week when I heard the song 10,000 reasons by Matt Redman.

I immediately realized that in order to truly be thankful for this life and for all that I have been given, I have to actually pause and take inventory of all of life’s blessings. Even when I have something to gripe about, the reasons to be thankful definitely outweigh any negative aspects in my life. The list of 10,000 reasons/things I am currently creating is solidifying this truth.

In perfect timing, a book I had ordered over two weeks ago finally arrived today. The title is fitting, One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp. I love the synopsis on the back of the book:

One Thousand Gifts beckons you to leave the parched ground of pride, fear, and white-knuckle control and abandon yourself to the God who overflows your cup. As Ann Voskamp invites you into her own moments of grace, she gently teaches you how to biblically lament loss, turning pain into poetry; intentionally embrace a lifestyle of radical gratitude; and slow down and catch God in the moment.”

“Beckons you to leave the parched ground of pride…”

Pride has a way of creeping into every aspect of my life and without realizing it, I have let it take over. I believe the true way to experience freedom in this life and in our faith, is a complete abandon to ourselves. Worship of a righteous God and thanking him for all that I have in this life is loosening the chains of pride in my life.

I can live this life selfishly; for myself. But I never have peace. I have continually asked God what my purpose is in this life, what he has planned for me, and to take away all the pain in my life, but I have missed out greatly. I have missed out on understanding that this life is about God and I can’t love Jesus more than myself until I stop and praise Him for everything.

Some of you may think this sounds ridiculous, but this same God sent his only son to become a man. Jesus left all of his glory and became a man. If he set aside His own glory, then surely I can set aside my earthly and human pride.

Philippians 2:5-8

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus:

6Who, being in very naturea God,

did not consider equality with God something to be grasped,

7but made himself nothing,

taking the very natureb of a servant,

being made in human likeness.

8And being found in appearance as a man,

he humbled himself

and became obedient to death—

even death on a cross!

So I will continue to worship. I will continue to be thankful. And I will continue to approach God in awe and wonder.

What are you thankful for? Do you want to join me in creating a list of 10,000 reasons you are blessed? Life is good. God is good.

Leave a Reply

