Friend

I just returned from Arizona. A place that holds within its borders a home that is still in Matt’s name, a few good restaurants, the best homemade chai tea, an Anthropologie store, amazing sunsets, and a very dear friend.

I hadn’t visited Tucson in over two years and it was long overdue. Not so much the “visiting Tucson” portion, but visiting my friend. I really and truly can’t get over the gift of friendships. C.S. Lewis says it best, “Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival.”

Ain’t that the truth? The Bible speaks of friendship on more than a handful of occasions and I find myself giving thanks to God for such a sweet gift and blessing in the form of friends…especially my friend in Arizona.

I’m attempting to get my body’s clock back on Alaska time after flying two red eyes in less than four days, but I count it as nothing since I had the best time with my friend being refreshed and renewed by her presence…

“A friend is always loyal, and a brother is born to help in time of need. “ Proverbs 17:7 (NLT)

“When we consider the blessings of God—the gifts that add beauty and joy to our lives, that enable us to keep going through stretches of boredom and even suffering – friendship is at the top.” – Donald W. McCullough

Who are you thankful for today? Whose friendship continues to add that special “oomph” to your life? Don’t take it for granted for it’s a gift from God that is sweet to the soul.

One thought on “Friend

Leave a Reply

