Blueprints

When Matty K and I were planning our wedding we had a difficult decision as to where we would actually get married. Matt grew up in northern Minnesota and I grew up in Wisconsin and Michigan, but really Michigan is where I tell most people I am from (since I was eleven-years-old when I moved to Michigan from Wisconsin). At the time we got engaged we were living in Arizona and we really didn’t want to have the wedding in the desert. We debated whether or not to have a destination wedding, but that meant that we wouldn’t have some close friends who we definitely wanted to be a part of our day. Then we began to discuss what we had in common with where we grew up and the great lakes both resonated for both of us. He grew up along the shores of Lake Superior and I grew up along the coast of Lake Michigan. We have fond memories surrounding those giant bodies of water and we decided to have the wedding at a locale that was near one of these great lakes. We settled on our destination of West Olive, Michigan, just south of Grand Haven, Michigan (where I grew up). It was the most perfect day, but this post really isn’t about our wedding, but rather to give you a little bit of background as to how much these lakes mean to us. For those who have never visited one of the “Greats” it’s hard to grasp how large these lakes really are. When people see our wedding photos (who obviously weren’t in attendance) they assume Matty and I got married in Florida or some other “warm weather” island or area of the US. They are surprised when we tell them, “no, we got married in Michigan.”

marie clark photography

marie clark photography

marie clark photography

For the past five years I have enjoyed living in the desert (Tucson, Arizona) and in the hot and humid south (Columbia, South Carolina), but I missed the water. I almost felt closed in and I needed to see that great expanse of water that let me feel free. This is another reason why I love Anchorage. It is nestled on the shores of Cook Inlet and my home is just a few blocks from Westchester Lagoon which feeds into the Cook Inlet. The seagulls have recently returned for the summer and I hear them as I sit on my deck and it reminds me that I live near water (or a landfill – ha ha!). Yep, I can finally breathe with that giant body of water reminding me that I am not boxed in with land on all four sides of me.

With water on my mind, I have been thinking of the giant wall in my living room that has been empty since we moved in. Strange, right? Water = giant wall in living room. Ha! Well, actually I have been deciding what I want to do with that wall for quite some time and while on Pinterest this winter I saw these photos of a few spaces and I fell in love with the use of giant frames.

I knew instantly that I wanted to use large frames behind my sofa as well, but what to put in those frames? I am very sentimental (not to the degree that I hold on to every single item. No, I will reserve that for another post where I divulge that I like to purge my home all.the.time.) and I began to think that maybe blueprints would be neat-o and researched to find lighthouse blueprints from the great lakes (specifically Split Rock or the Isle Royale lighthouse for Matt and the Grand Haven lighthouse for me). Unfortunately I could never locate the Grand Haven lighthouse blueprint, but I scored the Isle Royale lighthouse and a Great Lakes Cruiser blueprint (boat built in Wisconsin that could be seen touring the lakes in the 1920s). I also found an Alaskan fishing boat blueprint to mix the new with the old. 🙂

Isle Royale

Great Lakes Cruiser

Alaskan Fishing Boat

Each of these prints are a different size, but I will be putting them in the same size frame with custom made matting (I will be purchasing a standard size frame to save $$). I want my home to reflect both Matt and me. I want it to reflect where we have come from and where we are currently. I think these blueprints will be the right mixture of mixing the old with new. Someday I will make a mood board for the living room for you to see where I am going with this room, but for a little “fyi” I don’t plan on keeping the couch since I have had it for almost ten years when I moved into my first apartment by myself. I will also be changing out lamps, end tables, rug and the coffee table. Stay tuned.

What sentimental artwork do you have that you love? What are your thoughts on blueprints above the sofa? Constructive criticism is welcome.

4 thoughts on “Blueprints

  1. i love the idea of oversized blueprints! and my heart skips a beat just thinking about Lake superior and Isle Royale. You’ve inspired me to start searching for old photos of Isle Royale/Barnum Island (prob need to just find them in mom’s bin of unorganized photos-haha). I have a great pic of Split Rock by Jay stinky to start me off…
    I hope someday Matchu and I can bring you and Peal to Barnum Island. The best part is using the old sauna and jumping in the lake. It’s so cold that your heart stops for a second(:

  2. I really love both the big frame idea and the blueprints. The blue may be kind of much what about doing them in like sepia tones? Just a thought. Oooh remember that awesome wallnof different size mirrors at Zinburger… Always wanted to recreate that. Alas, someday.

  3. What a GREAT idea Jen. I really like it as it is so very different from anything else I’ve heard of or seen. My sentimental airwork is of old pictures of both Bill’s and my families and also a picture of a plane that I found like the plane that his dad flew in WWII. Miss you, love your posts. Auntie Anne

Leave a Reply

