House Crashin’ Wednesday

Is it really hump day? I have decided to stick with Wednesday as my official house crashin’ day – no matter how late in the day it is (it is currently 11:17pm my time). My family and friends live so far away and even though I hope and pray (and cross my fingers) that they come and visit, it is far to travel to visit me up in the North Pole so I’ll give ya peaks of my home. However, don’t think this is letting you off the hook to come visit. Speaking of visitors, Matty’s parents and youngest sister are coming to visit later this week. Yay! They will be our first official visitors and even though I was already getting this house primed (literally) and painted for visitors in the future, their visit put a little oomph in my step to get on it.

My house is a three bedroom 1960’s ranch style home. I actually really like the clean lines of mid-century homes and furniture. If I could mix it up with my love affair with lofts and exposed beams and pipes then I would say a match in heaven was born. Any way, I digress. We have transformed one bedroom into a guest bedroom and the other into our office (which is where one of our guests will be sleeping). I really wish I had taken before photos of our office when we had the built-in bookshelves, but alas I didn’t. Booooo. I did snap a few photos after the bookcases came down and the rainbow of paint colors that lived on the walls. The pink, beige and white needed to go and I knew I wanted a rich deep gray since gray is the primary color in my house. I had a few ideas via here, here, and here and I used this little nifty color board (via Design Seeds) for my color palette (and with Matty K’s approval – I always ask his opinion, this way I feel like the home is ours and exudes both of our personalities.)

Before:

Pretty isn't she?

The outline of the bookcases looks like some crazy (attempted) graphic painting.

I started by painting my walls a nice dark color (Valspar Blindfold), but Matty was a bit concerned with it being too dark. I didn’t want to argue with him, so I started with one wall and then he said “why not try another?” So as it stands currently there are two walls painted blindfold and the other are Olympic low VOC white in eggshell finish.

1 wall done...3 to go!

Yummy & Delicious!

After letting the paint cure for a few days I moved the furniture around that we already owned and what you see (below) is how it currently stands. The room still needs some work, but it is a far cry from what it once was less than a week and a half ago.

The list of to-do items:
* New lamp (prefer a colored ceramic)
* Table runner to put on desk for more color and texture
* 2 new chairs (Matt will be on one side and I on the other since the desk is 85+” long)
* Hang curtains
* Hang plenty o’ frames on the walls. I adore frame walls like here and here
* Rug for under desk
* A little bit of greenery (I bought a little sumpin’ sumpin’ today and you can see it in photos below)
* New light fixture – the current one looks like spot lights from a stage. I have a strong urge to stand underneath with a imaginary microphone and belt out a few musical tunes, but I resist.

Current breakdown of cost:
* Paint: $30.00
* Curtains: $14.00 (yep, you read that right. I found them on clearance at Pier 1)
Total $44.00

I still can’t believe how much of a difference a few coats of paint can do for a room.

pretty colors, but what is that on the ceiling??! ewww...

Maybe (just maybe) this wall will one day be painted yummy dark.

I love how the pink pops with this dark wall - I'll be said to say goodbye to March.

And no post is complete without a photo of Rider - photo is from my wedding.

Here’s a sneak peak at what else has been going on (today)…

I have been eyeing a sunburst mirror for a while now.


What projects are you working on in your home to make it feel more like home?

These cute guys are gearing me up for Spring!

What have you been up to? Anything you are doing to spruce up the ol’ home?

5 thoughts on “House Crashin’ Wednesday

  1. Love the room, Jen! Cannot wait to come and visit. Love the color on the walls. 🙂 We want to paint again upstairs…can you think of a color? Then comes the re-doing of the kitchen cabinets. Love you!!!
    Kristen

Leave a Reply

