Tuesdays With Rider

Rider. Not to be confused with Ryder.

Funny spelling of a name for a funny dog.

I adopted Rider almost five years ago to the day. I didn’t change his name or the spelling; it fit him. I can still recall when I laid eyes on him at the Harbor Humane Society in West Olive, MI. When I saw him I knew he was going to be my dog. Many snuggles, hugs, walks, and hikes later and I can tell you that he is a blessing from God for both Matty K and me.

He teaches me more than I teach him and he continues to keep me focused on what’s important. For instance, today (and just about every day) he came into the office about five times. He literally talks to me. It’s a mix of a bark and a whine because he wants or needs something. The first time it was to eat breakfast. The second time it was to be let out. The third time it was for his “daily bone”. The fourth time I shooed him away because I was attempting to get some things done with a job search and a commitment I made to the Humane Society of Anchorage (yes, real “stuff” and not just pinning). 🙂  The fifth time, I knew what he wanted and needed and it was exactly what I wanted and needed, but I hadn’t taken the time to do it.  It was to play with him and to take him for a walk.

If I had started the day with him. If I had played with him and taken him for a walk, we would have both been more content and would have faced quite a few less distractions while I worked at the computer (and he slept). But instead I had my priorities a bit mixed up. As I walked with him I was reminded of this fact in my own walk with God. How many times do I get my priorities mixed up and I don’t spend time in the word? How many times do I ignore his quiet voice? Yet He continues to beckon me to come, to rest, to commune and I continue to “shoo” Him away with the excuse of getting something done off my “to-do” list.

I slowed down today because of my dog. God used Rider to speak to me and so, you see, Rider really is a blessing from God.

I’m sure most of you are familiar with the book Tuesdays With Morrie I have decided to create my own rendition simply called Tuesdays With Rider. Below is a snapshot of my Tuesday With Rider from today.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Rider

  1. i just want squish Rider’s face and give him a big kiss! my favorite cue from motto is when he comes and lays his head on my lap and looks up at me and tells me to get off Pinterest and go throw his ball outside. walking with Motto always reminds me to talk to God too…it’s funny how He uses our pups isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

